Minimalism–Blog Edition. And Answering Machines. With Cassettes.

When I started my first blog years ago (I have a few–I ‘ve never been blog-faithful–they’re floating around the internet like detritus) I spent a long time figuring out style, what images to use, how many pages to add, etc. A few months ago, I decided  just to toss up a page and write stuff, because writing is what I most wanted–needed–to do.

I liken this phenomena to the time when answering machines first came out. I changed my message daily, re-writing and rehearsing it until I was satisfied that it was witty and pithy enough to release to the public. Or my mom and a few friends. You’d think my answering machine was sitting at the Algonquin Round Table with Dorothy Parker and Robert Benchley.

And people even paid a shitload of money for pre-recorded messages they could put on their machines to impresses their mom and a few friends!

But after a few years, the fad faded, the job of changing your message became tedious and no one gave a fuck anymore.  Messages became so truncated that even the standard “Hi this is Roberta, I’m not available right now so please leave a message” was too exhausting and was shortened to “Leave a message” or “Leave it.

That’s sorta like what happened with me and my blog.

Minimalism–Blog Edition. And Answering Machines. With Cassettes.

Leave a Reply

